A Toast! To New Beginnings.

A beginning it shall be. A good one? That remains to be seen.

I decided to start this online diary for a couple of reasons, and it will probably contain more blather, angst, and neuroses than anyone in their right minds would want to read about when it comes to another person. Me? I love living vicariously through the blogs of others! I adore seeing the triumphs (and cheer them out loud, because I am a dork), and commiserating with the backslides. It is kind of like reading a very engrossing, never ending novel, or playing an MMO, two of my favorite pastimes.

A bit about me. I am an almost 44 year old (a bit more than a week!) divorced and remarried woman, living in Texas. Came here from Colorado, by way of a 5 year pit stop in Massachusetts. I am sure that we will discuss that riveting (not really), and totally improbable story at some time. I have a husband, two cats, live in the “ghetto” and work in the fascinating, ever changing and glamorous field of text based customer service! I, however, am cool, because my customer service is for a game studio! That is right. A middle aged *gasp* woman!!!11! Game Master. Vignettes about my job will probably be a good part of my blog, because frankly, I find the psychology of it fascinating.

My husband is a pretty wonderful person – a 48 year old man, going on 14. Or 4. Depending on the day, and the circumstances. While sometimes, I want to take a two by four to him, most of the time, he is a pretty good guy. He makes me laugh, even as he drives me crazy.

We have two cats, Spooky Doo and Calliope, (shortened to Spook and Callie). These cats tend to rule our lives (as cats will when they deign to let you take them into your house.) Spook is a monstrous, more than 20 lb black and white male, who is not only long and tall (he can stand on his hind paws and put his front paws on the counter), but fat. We try to curb it, but it is a never ending job, which we seem to not be winning. Callie is barely 8 pounds of diva like tortie beauty (with an overbite. Seriously. When I join the 21st century, and get myself a newfangled digital camera (come on holiday bonus), you will see!) Wow! Parentheticals! Get used to them. I use them – a lot.

Video gamers, especially in a subscription based game, are some of the most passionate people I have ever run into. They are so wrapped up in the product, and so very much in love with the world, the characters that they have built – that anything that changes, glitches, bugs, or even perceived imperfections, cause them to… show that passion. Loudly. And with great fervor.

Passion. Don’t you love it?

One of the things that I love about where I work is that they encourage one to embrace ones inner geek. That geek can manifest in any way – they aren’t particular. Basically, my company encourages and nourishes PASSION. Have a passion for something – video games, books, comic books, arts, crafts…. you get the idea. One of the core values here. I love that any and all passions are acceptable, and that my geeking out about my knitting, or cross stitch or quilting, is as much embraced an nurtured, as my geeking out about games. My boss, when I mentioned that I was stitching to take my mind off of my 9584782th attempt at quitting smoking, found a hat he wanted me to crochet for him. Too bad the pattern ends up being about the right size for a Cabbage Patch Kid. >.>

Austin, TX. What can I say? This is a liberal, artsy city, in the midst of Texas conservatism. It feels like Boulder CO, or Northampton MA on a larger scale. It sprawls, like all of TX, and I absolutely hate they freeway system. PLUS – people lose their damned minds when any kind of weather hits! Seriously! Rain? The freeways become a tangled mess of gridlock as drivers freak out, accidents happen, and everyone ends up late for whatever they were heading toward.

It snowed one time last year – and the city shut down. I even called into work. In a call center, especially one that is 24/7, this is serious business folks! You have to make sure that there is coverage for the customers. This storm? Even our coverage people were stating that if the roads were icy/snowy, stay home, don’t come in. That is APOCALYPSE stuff, people!. I called in not because I wouldn’t be able to drive in. That would have been fine. I learned to drive in the mountains of Colorado, followed by years of “Winter Mix” in Massachusetts. No – I phoned in because if people lose their minds with a little RAIN, what would happen on snow?!? I didn’t want to find out, and as the State Patrol was warning people to “NOT GO OUT UNLESS IT WAS AN EMERGENCY!” I figured it was my civic duty to follow their directions. It was nice. Hot cocoa spiked with schnapps in the middle of the day? Because everyone might be dead of the cold tomorrow, with colder than freezing temperatures and SNOW on the roads? Need I say more?

Enough rambling for today! Even if I have no readers, I shall continue. Actually, this blog is all ’bout getting my writing mojo back. And about work, crafts, people, cats and husbands. Because of course, they are my inspirations.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicky
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 08:46:21

    Nice first post! Bookmarked! And possibly subscribed? Not sure. We’ll see how this works.

    Reply

  2. MG
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 16:53:36

    Looking forward to this, hun ❤
    Love you!

    Reply

  3. Barolas
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 16:54:23

    I love it! Especially the part about the husband and the 2×4. 😉 Can’t wait to see what the future brings for your blog, lovie. ❤

    Reply

  4. Brenda Kane
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 17:03:14

    Ohhh the inner workings of Pam’s mind… exxxxxcellent! 😉
    Thanks for sharing, sweety. I look forward to reading more.

    Reply

  5. Dicey!
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 17:14:25

    Awesome stuff. A lot in that first post I can relate to. (Must stop smoking) Subbed as well. And why do I have a DK avatar? Not that I mind.

    Reply

  6. Dicey!
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 17:16:13

    Reply

  7. I'm Still Standing
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 17:31:50

    It’s great to see you here! =) Welcome aboard.

    Reply

  8. whatigeek
    Nov 17, 2011 @ 17:50:55

    Thank you all so much! ❤ I love each and every one of you, and hope that I can amuse and provoke you for a long time to come!

    Reply

  9. delilah
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 19:11:45

    Thank you for sharing this with me, Pam ❤ Definitely looking forward to reading about your adventures.
    I actually am also gearing up to kick smoking. CJ and I just picked up a pair of e-cigs and we are going to try going at it that way (plus, they brewed me up this stuff that tastes like those pie-flavored Dreams I used to smoke).

    Reply

  10. Geeking Out
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 21:16:53

    Wow. That kinda failed.

    Full post was as follows – Pete and I need to look into this – Doctor suggested e-cigarettes if we didn’t quit completely.

    Hooray for you and CJ!

    Reply

  11. Daddyo
    Nov 19, 2011 @ 20:32:16

    Way to go Pam! let’s see what cooks up here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

