Random hates me. Except sometimes, it doesn’t.

I am not generally a “lucky” person. For the most part, I have to work very hard to make things happen, and if the chance is random, I tend to consider myself out of the running. It’s just easier that way.

Seriously folks. In one of the games I play, it became a joke. I would never ever ever win the rolls on gear that dropped from a boss in a raid. Ever. The only times I won anything were:

  1. No one else in the raid wanted/could use the item
  2. They felt sorry that I hadn’t gotten anything for X months, and decided to throw a bone.

Now, this generally doesn’t get me down. I’m used to it, and I’ve gotten to the point where I just have to giggle/sigh whenever the random gods cross their fingers and laugh in my face.

I do admit that I *have* considered resorting to voodoo, but decided on second thought that I wouldn’t really like mixin’ it up with fresh chicken guts and such.

**girl moment** EWWWWW.

Moving on.

Being unlucky has a hidden perk. It makes that times that you ARE lucky, very special, and almost magical.

I had a moment of non- voodoo driven (thank you very much!) magic this week!

As a text based call center, we run 24/7/365.  It was announced that our service levels were good enough (fancy schmancy way of saying “consistently doing as good or better than expected”) that we could have extra people off for Thanksgiving. I had already taken that Friday and Monday off, because my birthday is Monday.

I put in for time, since there was more available, and it would allow me to make my long birthday weekend into a full on mini holiday – as well as allowing hubby and I to do something kinda holiday-ish.

I have a very wonderful, fun and unconventional boss…

Hmmmm.  On second thought – I don’t think that I thought this paragraph through. When he sees this, he will maybe think that I am kissing up. AS IF! (I call him the evil imp, or hon, depending on the day, and how cranky I am mixed with how good my memory for names is at that particular moment.)

Ahem. Back on track. Again.

My boss decided that the ONLY fair way to allot the extra time amongst the more- than- slots-open requests was to hold a twenty sided die roll off.

AND – I got one!

Yes, I am a geek. I work with geeks. I have geek friends.  And I am so totally ok with that. ♥


4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicky
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 02:15:16

    I very much hope that you have a totally awesome little mini holiday. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I'm Still Standing
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 10:42:03

    Have a wonderful birthday!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Of Parties and Shopping and Booze! Oh My! « You Are What You Geek
  4. Trackback: Celebrate Good Times… « You Are What You Geek

Leave a Reply

