Challenge!

So. A very dear and marvelous friend of mine, who has had a very tough time of things, and has managed to come out of it beautifully posted a challenge on her blog I’m Still Standing, I Won’t Be Quiet Now.

(For inspiration, y’all should check out her blog. Her strength of character and courage awe and inspire me.)

Thank you, Miss Kitters, for setting this challenge!

Her challenge seems simple, but in reality, can be much harder. The challenge? Make a list of 50 things that you have done RIGHT, and then share it. So, without further ado, I shall try to rise to that challenge!

  1. Started writing again!
  2. Skydiving despite a debilitating fear of heights.
  3. Learned to function better in the scary ol’ world.
  4. Realized my limits, and try to stick to them.
  5. Made a conscious effort to see the doctor about ills, and follow advice on how to minimize or be rid of them.
  6. Cut way down on smoking. (next step, since quitting wasn’t completely successful, the ecig as suggested by doc)
  7. Made the conscious decision to live in the present, with an eye to the future, instead of the past.
  8. Begun crafting again.
  9. Learned to laugh at myself in a GOOD way, rather than a self deprecating one.
  10. Made and kept some very close friends, (going on 30 years for one!), and stayed open to opportunity to make more.
  11. Planning for future.
  12. Remembered to take medicine (mostly) on time.
  13. Steady improvement at work.
  14. BREATHE! (using it as a tool instead of bolting)
  15. Created a plan for becoming more financially secure.
  16. Getting at least 5 hours of sleep a day.
  17. Writing and publishing blog posts at level/amount in 5 year plan outline.
  18. Creating 5 year plan with thought.
  19. Stopped blaming past issues for current state.
  20. Getting back in touch/staying in touch with nephew TJ.
  21. Forgave Mom for mistakes in the past.
  22. Forgave Dad for same.
  23. Letting go of guilt feelings quicker.
  24. Learning to communicate face to face better.
  25. Reading more again!
  26. Considering options for advancement at work, with an eye toward working for them.
  27. Finding a “life statement” and attempting to live by it.
  28. Treasuring my friends, and letting them know how much I love them.
  29. Treasuring my husband, and letting him know how much I love HIM. (Even when he drives me batty)
  30. Letting go of the past in relation to what has been lost.
  31. Rebuilding my library!
  32. Letting go of hurts caused by misunderstandings.
  33. Listening when someone needs an ear.
  34. Offering a shoulder for the same.
  35. Amusing my friends and co workers.
  36. My awesome sense of humor!
  37. Giving blood, when I could.
  38. Moving to Austin, following a dream, and making it a reality!
  39. Cook awesome food!
  40. Teaching myself Excel.
  41. Being co owner and office everything (not to mention, on the job work – including power tools RAWR! when needed) of a start up business.
  42. Learned that I can live on my own just fine, should I choose to do so.
  43. Being comfortable with myself.
  44. Knowing how to drive in all weathers. (don’t like to, but can do it!)
  45. I am smart!
  46. Sincere appreciation for what others have achieved, without jealousy.
  47. Learned to get past disappointments, and be contented despite them.
  48. Appreciation of beauty, in all of its incarnations!
  49. Knowing when I can let the walls down, and doing so.
  50. Getting myself to a place where I don’t need medication for depression, and staying there!

Whew! That was a tough one! I was able, however, to get it done, and I think very well!

Making this list was a challenge, but it did force me to think about all the GOOD I have done. What a marvelous thing that is!

How about y’all? You up to the challenge? You don’t have to post, but if you want to, I would love to see!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sweetopiagirl
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 06:43:40

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

    Reply

    • Geeking out
      Dec 06, 2011 @ 06:50:17

      Thanks! I think this is an exercise that will help a lot of people! I know I felt better about stuff after forcing myself to think of GOOD exclusively! ❤

      Reply

  2. Sarah Simons
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 07:13:10

    I love it!! I have a load of blogging to catch up on, but as soon as I.do, I will accept the challenge!
    Proud of you for this, these are really well thought out victories 🙂

    Reply

  3. I'm Still Standing
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 13:50:10

    Love it love it love it! It is amazing what a few positive thoughts can do about perspective. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

