Stuff and Bother.

Just little pieces of stuff and blather, to share with everyone this chilly Thursday morning.

We have hit winter here in Central Texas, which means quite a bit of rain.  We badly need this moisture.  It was super dry this summer, and half the counties in Central Texas had huge fires.

I love rain, when I don’t have to drive in it.  People in TX freak out with rain.  This isn’t helped by the fact that tire upkeep is rather slack, and a good portion of the cars on the road are running on tires that are showing cording, completely bald, or otherwise have NO TRACTION WHATSOEVER!

This compounds the problem of “I want to get off to the right in 1/4 mile!  Just gonna squeeze over there RIGHT NOW!  The people in the lane I want to be in will slow  down…”  Ummmmm  They can’t if they don’t have tread, and the roads are wet.  Makes for a fun (NOT) commute.

This has been the longest week EVER.  Because it is a bit rainy, they have turned the heat up to greenhouse levels at work, and I find myself in a heat coma about 3 hours in.  Not kidding.  I have a little fan on my desk, that blows directly in my face, but with the ambient temperature keeping me at a temperature that a lizard would love, I find myself all sluggish and stupid.

For goodness sake people!  If you are cold, put on a damned sweater!  I can only take so much OFF before they call the cops, and an email goes out telling people that while the company is appreciative of my contributions, I am no longer an employee, and must be treated as a guest should I show up.

The tree that ate the living room appeared to be pretty safe from the great four legged hunters, until tonight.

Tonight, Spook has been feeling….  rambunctious.  He has made it his personal mission to deconstruct the tree.  Threatening to take his legs off and beat him with them have fallen on unbelieving pointy ears.  When we try to restrain him physically, to remove him from the temptation, he slithers (don’t know how 25 lbs of fat cat can slither, but I witnessed it first hand, and can attest that he CAN) up under the tree where we can’t reach him, to continue to deconstruction from within.

Callie got curious with all of the hollering and threats, and decided to check out the action.  She is just asking for it.  If we piss him off enough, he will decide to play with his favorite squeak toy – her.  She can usually hold her own, and is much faster, but if he catches her, she doesn’t stand a chance.

Was going to play SWTOR when I got home tonight. I started last night, but was having horrible, choppy FPS issues.  Seriously.  Running at less than 5 frames a second, on a machine that is well over the recommended specs.  Don’t know how I managed to NOT die in the first area.  For that matter, don’t know how I managed to NOT throw the monitor across the room in frustration.  After getting the new Sith Inquisitor girlie through that first little area and into the training facility (without dying thank you very much!  Quite a feat considering the choppiness was so bad that I was over correcting, and fighting with my back to the mobs most of the time) I went online to search out what may be happening. I already knew it wasn’t an overfull server, because I had chosen my realm based on lowest population, and only saw 3 other players while in game.

Turns out that the fix was rather counter intuitive.  I had already done the basics. (update drivers, make sure the game can get through firewalls, graphics had defaulted to lowest, so couldn’t lower those…  etc) ONE message board had the following –

Turn graphics all the way UP, and try.  I did that, and the choppiness went down a bit.  Lowered to medium, and it was perfectly fine.  Who’da thunk it?

ANYWAY

I was going to play tonight, but they are down for maintenance.  Until 6am my time.  So – reading, knitting, and of course writing here have won my evening!  With lots of wine.  Lots.

Finally, if you thought I was kidding about the butt eating couch or the candy van, think again:

Butt Eating couch, with accessories

Before calling large item pickup, husband decided to put it on the curb to see if it would be scavenged.  The ugly TV tray and the horrendous lamp (yet another freebie) as well.  The lamp and the tray were snagged by someone, but the couch, not so much.

The candy van in the background adds just the right touch of creepy non class, doesn’t it?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bellanoctumnSarah
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 05:56:00

    LOL!! too funny! I think Spook is adorable ^-^ But then I don’t have to clean his litter box! Killing that tree is only to help you out, ya know, so that you don’t feel bad about getting a new one… yeah.. yeah thats’ it!! LOL!!

    Glad to see you getting good use out of your camera too!!

    Reply

  2. Dicey!
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 10:49:41

    ❤ Thanks Pam, I needed a laugh this morning.

    I hope you're keeping these for your first book.

    For a long time I didn't have a sofa because Puffy "ate" mine. Last year your "Butt Eater" would have looked good to me.

    Reply

  3. Vineyard
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 00:49:53

    That couch looks perfectly acceptable! No, I don’t want it. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Anonymous
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 12:15:49

    I think Puffy is related to my dog… 😦

    Reply

  5. Vicky
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 12:16:25

    Whoops, that was me. I’m on a different computer and forgot that it didn’t have my name on it, lol.

    Reply

  6. Vicky
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 12:17:38

    Oh and the van’s not so bad. It *could* be, though…with a decal of a half-naked woman on the side of it, or something – maybe a spooky clown, too. I would run if I saw that, lol.

    Reply

    • Geeking out
      Dec 27, 2011 @ 16:47:10

      Dicey – I had a dog that ate a couch once. I know that pain. = /

      Vicky – the van is not shown in its true glory here. There are PAINT BRUSH STROKES on it – where the paint was “touched up” and the back windows? Plexi glass. >.> as well as rust spots, and the interior? *shudder*,

      Reply

Leave a Reply

