New Year! Just a few (five) days late!

Finally, I have reclaimed my house from the tree that ate Austin! It is back in its box, and back in the junk room.

Shut up, y’all. I do have a junk ROOM – not just a drawer. Between stuff my husband drags home from jobs, (we might USE it someday!) various tools and carpentry stuff, craft materials, books that don’t have shelves, and other stuff that can’t be gotten rid of… (damned government, requiring SEVEN years of back paperwork!) a drawer just does NOT suffice, and we don’t have a garage or a storage shed for this stuff.

Don’t get me wrong – we have a drawer too, where ostensibly, Pete is supposed to keep things like screwdriver tips, the odd nuts and other little stuff that comes home in pockets, as well as hand held tools.  Of course, they don’t go there initially.  I can’t tell you how many times I have stepped on a screw gun tip with my bare feet.  Good times!  NOT.

ANYway.  Back on track.

The tree did come down, although it was a couple days later than I would have liked. I had the terrible timing and bad taste to come down sick with bronchitis, mixed with a nasty digestive tract thing (that we won’t be discussing at all – yuck!) on New Years Day – and it lasted into Monday, and Tuesday. Ugh.

So – wee hours of Wednesday morning, when I was feeling only half zombified, I was able to get it down, and OUT of my living room.

Another side note here. When getting ready to slide furniture to its non holiday placement, I found a can of primer paint, hidden in the shadows between the chair and loveseat, in front of the table. /sigh.

I wonder if it went there because my husband just HAD to, because I had stated in no uncertain terms that that kind of stuff would NOT be allowed in the living room with the new stuffs. Attempt at alpha male “I am dominant – I can do what I want?” behavior? The world will never know. Rather than launching it at the van however, I just placed it in his seat at the dining table. Or what would be a dining table, if it weren’t covered in various papers, laptop, plates, cans, and other detritus left by that too common species, Maleous Sloppicus.

SO – lovely comfortable and yummy furniture is now set as it should be, and without the tree that ate Austin, the room actually feels… not roomy, but roomier! The ottoman and chair are huger than they seemed in the store, but I don’t mind!  Heck – we can both use it if we are both in the living room at the same time.  One of the pluses of cozy living space!

Next step to be taken will be to frame the Karazhan Theatre posters I got from the Blizzcon store, and hang them. (I know, I am a nerd, but they really are rather gorgeous) That should bring at least this room, up to par!

Living room as it is now:

Comfy!

Complete with the picture Pete’s mom painted and gave us (needs a frame, and a different wall) and a Spook, who has decided that we bought the chair JUST for him, and now pretty much lives in it.  Once I have another geek shelf, (mah swag shelf for work is full up!) the Star Wars statue, and the LOTR pez dispenser limited collection set that I scored as an “open me!” present at Christmas will have new homes as well. (What can I say?  I am a geek.  Proud of it, too!)

Fun fact – the table in the corner?  It is actually a very clever design, and was picked up in Germany by my Sister in Law when she lived there, while she worked for the FBI.  The top can flip up, and it becomes a rather throne like chair.  Another fun fact?  That table top is a big as a decent sized two/three person dining table.  Much larger than a standard sized bistro table.  Kinda says something about the scale of the furniture, yes?

And, just for fun, Callie wants attention when SHE wants attention. Here is a shot of her, demanding attention while I am reading at the computer:

Diva needs attention!

Note the placement of the cat – right between me, and where my keyboard would be if I were actually USING it.  And, she has done this while I have been using it…  say in the middle of a raid?  She will even, on occasion, roll around, deliberately striking keys, to see what will happen.  usually, this is to run my character into the nearest mobs, pulling them all.  It has to be deliberate, because it happens quite often.  In my case, the excuse that “the cat did it!” may just work…  hmmmmm.

Sorry for the very short, not very fun post. Still feeling punky, and not all that creative.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah Simons
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 05:49:47

    Great post! LOVE the pictures!! I think this post was FAR more upbeat than your last, and I am so glad to see that! Your Furniture is GORGEOUS! your cats are ADORABLE and I am so happy to see that you are feeling better and less stressed!

    *HUGE HUGGLES*

    Reply

  2. Vicky
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 18:59:40

    OK yeah, that’s BIG furniture, lol! But it looks awesome. Makes you want to curl up and sleep just like the cat is doing.

    Reply

  3. Kittin
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 04:19:28

    “Next step to be taken will be to frame the Karazhan Theatre posters I got from the Blizzcon store, and hang them.”

    This doesn’t make you a geek. I’m still trying to find a cheap set of frames for ours, so they can go up in the study. $25 a frame is a little much, when you think what the posters cost >.<

    Love the furniture! Looks so very cosy. And comfy. So, when can I come visit? 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

