Favorite

So a friend of mine posted a question on Facebook today.

What is your favorite movie? And why?

He asked that it not be answered lightly, but thoughtfully.

My answer? Life is Beautiful. Roberto Benigni and Nicoletta Braschi. Awesome, inspiring stuff.

This gorgeous, amazing, haunting, uplifting and tearful movie has been my favorite since I first saw it in 1999.

What a story. A Jewish man, in Mussolini’s Italy during World War II. Falling in love, and winning the love in return, of a gentile. A description doesn’t do it any kind of justice at all.

Life, and love, and imagination, as well as the fierce protective love of parents for their child, and spouses for each other.

A serious and thoughtful story, told with humor, and hope and a joie de vivre that lifts the heart, soothes the spirits, and makes one feel!

Of course, when I wish to rewatch, the hubster doesn’t want to be around. Not his cup of tea. Not enough gunfire and explosions, not to mention sub titles. /sigh.

Oh well. I know that I have it, and can watch it any time I start to feel a bit down about life. Any time I start to slip into the kindergarten “it’s not fair!” mode that can hit. This movie soothes my soul, making me laugh while I cry, and renews faith in the good that can be found in the world.

I have been uncomfortably fascinated with World War II (the European theatre of the war) since I was a child. In part, because I still can’t understand how hatred, and mob mentality, and following orders, could reach that extent. Not going to Godwin this post, however. This post isn’t about not understanding, it is about beauty!

Guido. His “Principessa “. Their beloved son. Love for each other, and for son, and sons love for father, and mother. Just memories of this movie tug my heart. Think I need to cut this short, and go watch it for the twenty eleventh time.

What’s your favorite movie, and why? If you want to share, I would love to see!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicky
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 13:07:42

    Mine: The Black Stallion. It has been my favourite since I was a child. The reason is just that it’s such a purely visual movie. It tells almost an entire story without so much as a word (and as you can guess, I like the first half better than the too-wordy second half, lol). And yes, I like silent movies.

    Reply

  2. Daddyo
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 15:19:58

    “Life is Beautiful” is a totally amazing movie, I agree. My own all-time favorite is “Children of Heaven”, a subtitled movie about an Iranian boy and his family as he first qualifies and then runs in a footrace to earn the big prize … a pair of tennis shoes. It’s simply touching.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

