So Many Games, So Little Time!

AH MA GAHD!

All of a sudden, I have been inundated with games to play. And not near enough time to play them all, as well as try to get as ready as I can to move, and work, and sleep…

I am still moseying my way through Skyrim.

I am still trying out different leaders to be in Civ V.

I still have the girlies in SWTOR that I am leveling.

I still have my girlies in WoW, (though admittedly, only my semi geared ‘lock is getting love right now – too tired during workweek, and too BUSY during weekend to do more than the guild “fun run” on Sunday nights…)

Now, finally, after an eternity of waiting, Blizzard has announced a release date for Diablo III. /SWOON!

I have been waiting for this day for YEARS. At least a DECADE.

O. M. G.

Back to the world of Sanctuary. Where fallen angels meet, and are defeated by heroes.

A true dungeon hack ‘n slash.

I have played on the Beta. Taken each and every one of the five classes through to the Skeleton King. (end of content released for beta.)

Multiple times.

And each time, I get more and more excited. I so very much want to see the rest of this beautiful, engaging, and FUN game! Not to mention – Collector’s Edition which will give me more toys for my WoW girls. Hooray!

My gaming started with pen and paper Dungeons ‘N Dragons. The original version. (Yeah. I have been around the block. I think of it as “seasoning”)

I was around when Atari released the first console for gaming. Remember well being SO JEALOUS of my friend Tami, who had it. We would play Pong while sneaking out to the living room to try to catch a few minutes of the burlesque show her mom was watching on that other new-fangled thing – Cable TV before being chased away.

My families first computer was the TI99 4-A – and I remember the night we got it.

My mom and I sat up ALL night, playing Space Invaders in the little “tag along” trailer that we were living in while we build our house in the foot hills of the Colorado Rockies. (I was a teenager at this time, in high school).

The look my Dad gave us, when he got up, and realized that we had been up ALL night…. would have taken paint off of the side of a building. Without thinner. He was so disgusted! (Love you, Dad!)

Mom was the one who bought me the original Nintendo for a Christmas present.

By that time, mom and dad were no longer married, but I was. The console was supposed to be for me and my husband – but I got WAY more use out of it than he did. >.>

HE didn’t get interested in video games until the PS came out. Then? Tomb Raider. Maybe he liked Lara Croft, but somehow I don’t think so. It just finally “clicked” for him. We started having “TR” nights – no TV, but he would run the controls and I would tell him where to go/look. It was fun, and the very beginning, I think, of my loss of interest in TV as a medium for entertainment. (Other than hooking the console up, of course!)

Now, I don’t console game so much. I had to leave all of my consoles (and I had several – including the Dreamcast) when I moved from Denver to MA. For a couple of years, I didn’t even have a computer. When I did get one, it was not a good one, and pretty much only the flash games, and puzzle games like those offered by PopCap would work on it.

I had dated a guy while in MA who was really into a new MMO – World of Warcraft. He would often ask me to log into his second account, and heal his warrior while he explored dungeons there. This was January/February of 2005- so just past launch.

I however? Didn’t have a system capable of that game until much MUCH later. I wasn’t dating him anymore – and had almost forgotten the game. My friend Brenda (Love you Brenda! ❤ ) suggested that I come play with her in a new game. We could make characters, explore the world, and talk in game, though we were a couple of thousand miles apart!

Of course, that reignited my love affair with computer gaming. Not only did I have a world that I could escape into when stress and pressure got to be too much – it was persistent! My girls could do what they wanted in the game, and they would remain… no save points, and unlike pen and paper DnD, if they died, I could always “resurrect” them. For a gold cost on armor durability, they would come back, just as they were before they died! HELLZ YA! DO OVERS! Without having to go all the way back to the save point!

I was faithful. For years, the ONLY game I played was WoW. My girls never had to wonder if I was out for the night with some other toon, in some other world…. never had to sit, fully rested and waiting for me to come to them. They KNEW that I would be there. As much as possible.

However. After several years, the wandering eye happens. I am not bored, really – just want to branch out. See my options. My girls, across three accounts, (five, if you count the newly resurrected, boosted to level 80 instantly toons on the Scroll of Resurrectioned accounts that were created to give mounts to my top two… ) always knew that I would be there. Day in, day out. And for the most part, I am.

However.

The call of the Civ V is strong. Cid Meyer had my heart before WoW did, and he still manages to captivate me, making me lose time in building a civilization.

My spacefaring girlies in The Old Republic are new, and young, and unsure of their place in the world. They need me to nurture them, so that they can grow strong in the force, and PWN Republic/Sith face (depending on faction.)

My girlies in Skyrim are young… needing guidance, and a strong hand to lead them through the civil war torn area of Skyrim.

And now – I must look to Amalur! The Reckoning is happening, and I have heard that it is awesome!

Add to this that this is the game that CURT SCHILLING – of the BOSTON RED SOX – Long time favorite pitcher, who pitched in an unforgettable game with the BLOODY SOCK – where he had torn his stitches from a recent surgery on his foot but still POWERED THROUGH…

FANGIRLGASM. Totally.

MUST MUST MUST have this game. I need to show my support for this up and coming company (38 Studios, and Big Huge Games). I know some people from my own company who have gone to Rhode Island to work for this company. I have heard amazing things about this game.

I just got a (very small) bonus. Looking to add a bit to my “nest” in the way of some throw pillows for the comfy, non butt eating furniture, poster frames for the Karazhan Movie Posters and DIII/Skyrim maps, and FINALLY ecigs instead of the real, lung choking ones.

All in all, looking forward to the next few months, though they are a bit scary too.

STILL haven’t found a place to move to, and it is already the middle of the month. TWO WEEKS! Need to remind hubby of that. Ugh.

Still KoA: The Reckoning. /drool.  I forsee a lot of time in a new world, with new girls.

And in two months DIABLO!  **SQUEEE**

Leave a Reply

