Of Procrastinating, Procedures, and Pet Battles! Oh My!

I could try to make all sorts of excuses for not posting the last couple of weeks, but I’m not gonna.

Truth is, I was just lazy.

I would start my weekend with the best of intentions for posting, and come late Friday night/early Saturday morning, I would realize that I had put it off TOO long, and I was too tired.

Decided that was NOT going to happen this week, so here I am!

I’ve been slacking on the crafting. I have the stuff, I even have it out where I can see it. I just can’t seem to get comfortable enough to DO it.

The counter where I sit at my computer is really too high – even with my office chair raised to the max, the counter comes up almost to my armpits. Means that I get tired arms very very quickly when doing anything that involves the “table”. Unfortunately, that does include (to some degree) my crafts, even the knitting. It gets in the way. And I just CANNOT get comfortable enough sitting on the bed to do much of anything. No back support, or if propped up against the headboard, I find I am awkward with the needlework while my legs are sticking right out in front of me.

I know. I’m weird. We ALL knew that, so we don’t need to dwell, right?  Right.
Onward.

I am not the only procrastinator around here. Hubster STILL hasn’t managed to check out listings being sent to get us OUT of here, and when my temp tags ran out on the 31st (I nagged him every week to get the Certification of Title paperwork from the previous owner, but it didn’t happen) he… extended the temp tags. Instead of getting the permanent ones. /sigh

At least I will be legal for the next month again. Would have been driving back here on expired tags Wednesday at midnight, if our systems at work hadn’t had a nervous breakdown. We did all the stuff that was waiting for out of queue time, and then were told to go home. NOT that I was unhappy about that! It was only a bit over an hour, and on my Friday! PLUS – I was legal driving back here! (The county where my office lives is notorious for “by the book” policemen, and this was Halloween night.)

Going into a short week this week, but not for fun. Have a docs appt on Wednesday, and won’t be in any shape to work Wednesday night. (Come ON good pain pills!) Made the appointment so that I could get done what I need to get done, and have a couple of days to recoup. Honestly, between allergies, a possible plague moving about the workplace, and the insomnia that is hitting again, maybe the drugs Imma have to take will get me back on track as well!

ANYway.

I have found a new addiction. And it might reach further than I would ever have thought.

Pet Battles.

Yup. You read that right. Pet battles.

With the Mists of Pandaria expansion for World of Warcraft, a new little mini game was added. Pet battles.

Now, all my girls in WoW have always been pet whores. It is why my account doesn’t have more gold on it than it does. They ALL had to have ALL THE PETS. Now, I have more to DO with those pets than just have an addon pull one out randomly to follow me around.

First, the Developers of WoW decided to make these “companion pets” account wide (which works better with the system they have set up) which means I had a BAZILLION AND ONE pets with all the dupes. (In reality, it was 1,438, of which about 148 were unique). The VAST majority of these could be caged, and put up on the in game auction house. (barring of course pets that were gained through Collector’s Editions, Real Money Pet Store… stuff like that). If it was gained in game, you could cage it, and try to get your gold back/make gold on them.

Finally! Something that **I** had a corner on the market for!

I have been doing pretty well with selling extra pets, (and oh so many more still in my SECOND bank alts guild bank… opened JUST for pets. One on each faction. I know. I am a bit… twisted. Again, we all knew this. Right?)

It is the actual BATTLING though, that I am addicted to.

Well, not the BATTLING per se, but the COLLECTING.

Go figure, huh?

There are special marked pets out in the world, and you can get your team of pets (chosen from what you have already, either pre expac, or captured) and head out into the world to battle and or capture these pets! THEY in turn, can be swapped into and out of your team, and so on, and so on, and so….

Remember me? The pet whore? No such thing as too many?

Yeah. Me. I have been taking my ‘lock out and about, battling to capture pets, looking for the rare ones, leveling up my “team”, and all round having a blast.

In fact, this weekend, that is pretty much all I did. (Few dailies on the two girls I have in the new zones, but that is it.)

What’s REALLY sad?

I am thinking about asking for/looking into getting a Nintendo 3DS for either Christmas, or my birthday. Solely so that I can get the Pokemon games. Because it is, from what I understand, the exact same thing, only more portable.

Seriously. Because now, I am worried that I will run out of pets to capture/upgrade (there are 4 “levels” of pets you can catch – poor, common, uncommon, and rare, so if you have say… an “uncommon” level skunk, and you run across a “rare”, you can battle that one, and if successful, add him to your pet book, either replacing the “uncommon” or just adding, as you can have up to 3 of any one kind of pet). My binge this weekend got me through a LOT of zones, and earned me a LOT of pets.

What will I do if I run out of pets to tame?!? The HORROR!

So possibly Pokemon. Because ya know, if I have to have an addiction – pet battling isn’t a bad one.

It could be crack.

Just sayin’.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. I'm Still Standing
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 23:26:29

    Hey You!

    I haven’t seen you much at work in the hurry to get in and out and about. I hope that you are enjoying your pet battles and having an amazing holiday!

    See you soon!

    Reply

  2. Elisa
    Jan 30, 2013 @ 22:46:49

    My warlock was a total pet whore pre-Pandaria. I can totally relate. I love pet battles and I actually squeal like a little girl when I find a new rare! hahaha

    Reply

    • Geeking out
      Jan 30, 2013 @ 22:59:57

      Elisa, I am the same. Still have some of the really really rare rare ones that I am looking for, even camping for! But I do admit to the thrill of seeing the blue finally show! ^_^

      Reply

  3. Geeking out
    Jan 30, 2013 @ 23:01:58

    Ms. Kit! I know – and I am horrid. I haven’t even checked this damned site to see what was going on. Still planning a super fun post – hopefully even funny – but not tonight. Tonight has included a much too copious amount of fireball shots – and writing more than a sentence or two would end in disaster. I am certain. ❤ Miss you lots, Mrs. Kitter!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

